CIF Rocky Mountain Section Council

The activities and business of the Rocky Mountain Section are managed by a 13-member council, consisting of a Director, Chair, Vice-Chair, Treasurer, and up to nine councillors. Two of these are student representatives from the Forestry programs at the University of Alberta and the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology. The remaining positions are elected from the population of Active or Retired members of the Section. In addition, there are non-voting junior student representatives from the University of Alberta and the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology.

Councillors generally take on specific roles or portfolios, such as, Secretary, Activities, Awards, Communications, Membership, Nominations, Programs, and Student Liason.

Usually the Vice-Chair moves into the Chair in their second year, and thence into the Director role (officially the Section Representative to the CIF Board of Directors) for a further year. Councillors serve a two-year term, except for student representatives, who serve a one-year term. The junior reps can move into the senior position in their second year. The Treasurer is appointed on an annual basis.

2021-2022 Rocky Mountain Section Council


Incumbent Name


Ben Wilson


Hudson Foley

Vice Chair

Milton Davies


Anne McInerney


Julie Steinke


Dieter Kuhnke


Charles Nock


Emma Farnham


Lindsay Dent


Bentley Fawcett

NAIT student representative (Sr.)

Cullen Mallet

NAIT student representative (Jr.)

UofA student representative (Sr.)

Madison Lieske

UofA student representative (Jr.)